Ryuichi Sakamoto: Coda

Dir: Stephen Nomura Schible (2017)

One of the most important artistic minds of our era, Ryuichi Sakamoto has had a prolific career spanning over four decades, from techno-pop star, to actor, to Oscar-winning film composer. A constant innovator, Mr Sakamoto’s music has evolved in lockstep with his evolution as an artist and thinker.

Following the Fukushima nuclear disaster, Mr Sakamoto became an iconic figure in Japan’s social movement against nuclear power and an unofficial spokesperson for the fear, anger and anxiety of the Japanese people. As Mr Sakamoto returns to music following his battle with throat cancer, his haunting awareness of his own life crisis, as well as that of his country and the whole world, leads to a creation of a resounding new masterpiece.

Granted unprecedented access to Mr Sakamoto's life and work, Stephen Nomura Schible's sensitive and illuminating film stands not only as a portrait of an extraordinary career, but as one of the most intimate examinations of the creative process ever committed to film.

Ryuichi Sakamoto: Coda is a gentle and reflective portrait of both the artist and the man.

 

CLICK CINEMA LINKS BELOW FOR INFO AND TICKETS

VIC:

ACMI

Thurs 27 Dec, 4:30pm & 6:45pm

Fri 28 Dec, 4:30pm & 6:45pm

Sat 29 Dec, 4:30pm & 6:15pm

Sun 30 Dec, 4:30pm & 6:15pm

Mon 31 Dec, 4:30pm & 6:45pm

Tues 1 Jan, , 4:30pm & 6:45pm

Wed 2 Jan, 7:00pm

Thurs 3 Jan, 6:15pm

Fri 4 Jan, 6:15pm

Sat 5 Jan, 2:30pm & 6:15pm

Sun 6 Jan, 2:30pm & 6:15pm

Mon 7 Jan, 6:15pm

Tues 8 Jan, 6:15pm

Wed 9 Jan, 6:30pm

Thurs 10 Jan, 6:15pm

Fri 11 Jan, 6:15pm

Sat 12 Jan, 6:15pm

Sun 13 Jan, 6:15pm

Mon 14 Jan, 6:15pm

Wed 16 Jan, 6:30pm

NSW:

Screenwave International Film Festival

Bellingen Memorial Hall - Sun 20 Jan, 1:30pm

Jetty Memorial Theatre, Coffs Harbour - Fri 25 Jan, 12:30pm

Director: Stephen Nomura Schible

Year: 2017

Language: Japanese & English

Run Time: 102 min

Rating: PG (mild themes)

"★★★ Extraordinary...One of the great documentaries about the creative process."

- The Telegraph

"★★★ Calm, respectful and thoughtful. A deliberate echo of the subject himself."

- The Times

"A gracefully moving portrait of the legendary composer. Coda's impact lingers hours, even days after the credits roll."

- Vulture

"A portrait of an artist that's nearly as powerful and necessary as the artist himself."

- IndieWire

“A deep dive into the artistry of an original thinker...[Sakamoto] speaks with the eloquence of a poet and the knowledge of a craftsman"

- The Hollywood Reporter 

"The fact the man is a living freakin' legend is undeniable. We can't recommend it enough"

- Rolling Stone 

There are no Press Images or Info Sheets available for download at this time.

If you are an exhibitor or member of the press seeking images or other assets for this film, please contact us here.

product