Tótem

Dir: Lila Avilés (2023)

MEXICO'S OFFICIAL SUBMISSION FOR THE 2024 OSCARS: BEST INTERNATIONAL AWARD

WINNER: ECUMENICAL PRIZE, BERLIN FILM FESTIVAL 2023

WINNER: SPECIAL JURY MENTION, MELBOUNRE INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL 2023

WINNER: BEST FILM, NEW DIRECTORS / NEW FILMS NYC

In a bustling Mexican household, seven-year-old Sol is swept up in a whirlwind of preparations for the birthday party for her father, Tona, led by her mother, aunts and other relatives. As the day goes on, building to an event both anticipated and dreaded, Sol begins to understand the gravity of the celebration this year and watches as her family does the same. This poignant and emotionally expansive film from Lila Aviles (The Chambermaid) cements her skill at directing dynamic, ensemble performances in her stunning sophomore effort.

Now playing at the Spanish Film Festival from 12 June - 10 July

Tickets available here

 

Victoria

 

Palace Balwyn

Fri 21 Jun 11:30am

Sat 22 Jun 8:30pm

 

Palace Brighton Bay

Mon 24 Jun 11:00am

Tue 25 Jun 8:30pm

 

Palace Cinema Como

Mon 17 Jun 1:15pm

Wed 3 Jul 3:50pm

 

Palace Penny Lane

Tue 25 Jun 1:15pm

 

Palace Westgarth

Tue 25 Jun 3:50pm

 

Pentridge Cinema

Tue 18 Jun 11:00am

Wed 26 Jun 11:15am

 

The Kino

Tue 2 Jul 4:20pm

 

Queensland

 

Palace Barracks

Wed 26 Jun - 11:15am

Fri 28 Jun - 3:45pm

Tue 2 Jul - 11:00am

 

Palace James St

Tue 18 Jun - 4:20pm

 

New South Wales

Palace Central

Tue 25 Jun 4:20pm

 

Palace Moore Park

Wed 26 Jun 3:50pm

Mon 1 Jul 1:15pm

 

Palace Norton Street

Tue 2 Jul 11:00am

Wed 10 Jul 11:15am

 

The Chauvel Cinema

Thu 27 Jun 1:45pm

 

Palace Byron Bay

Tue 9 Jul 1:15pm

 

Canberra

 

Palace Electric Cinemas

Wed 12 Jun 11:15am

Tue 25 Jun 11:00am

Wed 3 Jul 1:30pm

 

WA

 

Luna Leederville

Tue 2 Jul

4:00pm

 

Luna on SX

Tue 18 Jun

4:20pm

 

Palace Raine Square

Tue 2 Jul 1:15pm

 

South Australia

 

Palace Nova Eastend Cinemas

Thu 27 Jun 1:30pm

 

Director: Lila Avilés

Year: 2023

Country: Mexico

Language: Spanish

Run Time: 93 MIN

Rating: CTC

One of the finest movies you’ll see this year.” - New York Times

"Exquisite Mexican family drama of joy and heartbreak"  - ✰✰✰✰✰ The Guardian

product